Skip to content
careertips

HomeCoursesAutomotiveCertificate III in Automotive Sales

Certificate III in Automotive Sales

This qualification prepares you to work in sales across the automotive industry, whether that is on a dealership showroom floor, at a parts counter or in a service reception area.

  • Duration: 2 years
  • Course code: AUR31026

Where you can study this course

Where
  • Campuses
    Wagga Wagga Campus (Apprenticeship)
    Duration
    2 years
    Study mode
    Combination
    Full fee
    Not stated by provider

    This provider's page lists the previous version of this qualification, so check which version you would enrol in.

    What students say

    Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.

  • Campuses
    8 campuses
    Duration
    Not stated by provider
    Study mode
    Not stated by provider
    Full fee
    Not stated by provider

    What students say

    Many students rate the facilities and campus highly. Some found course content and organisation and admin frustrating, while opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching.

  • Campuses
    Work Skills
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked

    What students say

    Most students rate the trainers and the teaching highly, and many speak well of the student support, while some value the flexibility and pacing.

  • Campuses
    2 campuses
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked
  • Campuses
    3 campuses
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked
  • Campuses
    Not yet checked
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked
  • Campuses
    6 campuses
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked
  • Bendigo Regional Institute of TAFE

    Visit provider website (opens in a new tab)
    Campuses
    Bendigo TAFE Library
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked

Last reviewed 20 September 2026.

Set your location

Enter your postcode to see the providers closest to you first.

We use your postcode to sort providers by distance and to understand where people are looking to study. See our privacy policy.

Is this course right for you?

Entry requirements

Nil.

  • Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.

Entry recommendations

To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:

  • an interest in cars and how they work
  • good communication skills
  • a patient and helpful attitude
  • enjoyment of solving problems for people

What will you learn?

You learn how to find out what a customer actually needs, recommend products and services, quote and close a sale, and handle complaints when something goes wrong. The course also covers the parts of the job that sit behind the sale: safe work practices, environmental responsibilities, the legal rules that apply when selling to customers, and how to solve everyday problems on the spot. It suits people starting out in automotive sales as well as those already in a parts or service role who want their experience recognised and formalised.

  • Customer enquiries and needs
  • Selling automotive products
  • Promoting products and services
  • Handling customer complaints
  • Automotive sales law
  • Safety and sustainability at work

Units of competency (8 core, 12 elective)

The qualification is made up of 20 units. Everyone completes the 8 core units below, and the remaining 12 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.

  • Loading the details for AURACA101

Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).