HomeCoursesBeautyCertificate III in Beauty Services
Certificate III in Beauty Services
This qualification trains you to work as a beautician in a salon, providing nails, waxing, lash and brow treatments, basic make-up and cosmetic tanning.
- Duration: 4 months to 8 months
- Study mode: Online, on campus and workplace based
- Course code: SHB30121
Where you can study this course
- Campuses
- 32 campuses
- Duration
- 4 to 8 months
- Study mode
- Varies by campus
- Full fee
- $8,520
- Eligible students: subsidised from $2,310, concession $240
What students say
Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

Victoria University
- Campuses
- 11 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Most students praise the student support, while others find it frustrating. Many rate the facilities and campus well, and some criticise the organisation and admin.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Charles Darwin University
- Campuses
- 12 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students often praise the facilities and campus, while some value student support and course content. Some found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on trainers and teaching, with communication also a concern.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

TAFE Gippsland
- Campuses
- 11 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
TAFE Queensland
- Campuses
- 8 campuses
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Varies by campus
- Full fee
- $7,220
- Eligible students: subsidised from $4,430, concession $3,495
What students say
Many students rate the facilities and campus highly. Some found course content and organisation and admin frustrating, while opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching.
- Campuses
- 26 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students rate the trainers, teaching, facilities and campus highly, though some found the organisation, admin and communication frustrating; opinions are mixed on facilities and campus.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Box Hill Institute
- Campuses
- 4 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students speak highly of the trainers and teaching, with the campus and facilities also well regarded. Many found student support frustrating, along with organisation and communication.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
The Gordon
- Campuses
- Geelong City Campus
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Not stated by provider
- Full fee
- $8,176
- Eligible students: subsidised from $3,780, concession $756
What students say
Students rate the trainers and teaching highly, along with the student support and course content. Some found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on student support and course content.
Last reviewed 20 September 2026.
Is this course right for you?
Entry requirements
There are no entry requirements for this qualification.
- Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.
Entry recommendations
To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:
- an interest in beauty treatments and personal care
- good communication skills for talking with clients
- a careful approach to hygiene and safe work
- confidence recommending and selling products to clients
What will you learn?
You learn how to consult with clients, recommend products and services, and sell retail products alongside the treatment. Much of the course covers the practical side of running a salon day: hygiene and safe work practices, handling payments, and keeping records straight. It suits people who want a hands-on role talking to clients all day, and there are no entry requirements, so you can start without prior experience or study.
- Waxing and hair removal
- Manicures and pedicures
- Lash and brow treatments
- Make-up application
- Cosmetic tanning
- Client advice and product sales
Units of competency (14 core, 4 elective)
The qualification is made up of 18 units. Everyone completes the 14 core units below, and the remaining 4 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.
Loading the details for SHBBBOS007…
Loading the details for SHBBBOS007…
Where this fits
Certificate III in Beauty Services in beauty: the study that leads into it, the study that follows, and other routes at the same level.
Before
No earlier step listed.
You are looking at
Certificate III in Beauty Services
After
Certificate IVCertificate IV in Beauty TherapyBuilds on your beauty services training with facials, body massage and the skin and body knowledge to work with limited supervision, managing your own clients.DiplomaDiploma of Beauty TherapyGo further into a full treatment menu, with facial treatments, skin analysis and body massage, plus the skills to work fairly independently.Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).

