HomeCoursesBuilding and constructionCertificate III in Bricklaying and Blocklaying
Certificate III in Bricklaying and Blocklaying
This trade qualification prepares you to work as a bricklayer, blocklayer or paver on residential, commercial and industrial jobs.

- Duration: 1 year to 4 years
- Study mode: On campus
- Course code: CPC33020
Where you can study this course
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Melbourne Polytechnic
- Campuses
- 13 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
A number of students find the organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching, while some rate the facilities and campus highly.
- Campuses
- 10 campuses
- Duration
- 1 year to 4 years
- Study mode
- Varies by campus
- Full fee
- $17,370
- Eligible students: subsidised from $2,990, concession $240
What students say
Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

Victoria University
- Campuses
- 11 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Most students praise the student support, while others find it frustrating. Many rate the facilities and campus well, and some criticise the organisation and admin.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Swinburne University of Technology
- Campuses
- 8 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Some students praise the facilities and campus, while some criticise organisation and admin for being frustrating, and opinions are mixed on course content. A number also mention student support and teaching positively or negatively.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

TAFE Gippsland
- Campuses
- 11 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
TAFE Queensland
- Campuses
- 6 campuses
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Not stated by provider
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
What students say
Many students rate the facilities and campus highly. Some found course content and organisation and admin frustrating, while opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching.
- Campuses
- 26 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students rate the trainers, teaching, facilities and campus highly, though some found the organisation, admin and communication frustrating; opinions are mixed on facilities and campus.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
The Gordon
- Campuses
- East Geelong Campus
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Not stated by provider
- Full fee
- $19,761
- Eligible students: subsidised from $3,668, concession $732
What students say
Students rate the trainers and teaching highly, along with the student support and course content. Some found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on student support and course content.
Last reviewed 20 September 2026.
Is this course right for you?
Entry requirements
There are no entry requirements for this qualification.
- Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.
- Yes, licensing, legislative, regulatory and certification requirements vary between states, so consult the relevant state and territory regulatory authorities. Anyone carrying out construction work must also complete the general construction induction training program, such as CPCWHS1001 Prepare to work safely in the construction industry.
Entry recommendations
To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:
- an interest in building and construction work
- a careful and methodical approach to tasks
- good hand skills and spatial awareness
- willingness to work outdoors and at heights
What will you learn?
You learn to set out a site, lay bricks and blocks to line and level, and build the walls, corners, piers, arches and curved sections that make up a structure, along with cavity brick and masonry veneer work. The training also covers the supporting skills the trade relies on: reading plans and specifications, taking measurements, installing flashings and damp proof courses, erecting low scaffolding and working safely at heights. Most of it is taught and assessed on a real site or in a closely simulated workplace, because the work is learned by doing it, and there are no entry requirements to start.
- Laying bricks and blocks
- Reading plans and specifications
- Setting out and levelling
- Cavity brick and veneer walls
- Arches and curved walls
- Flashings and damp proof courses
Units of competency (20 core, 8 elective)
The qualification is made up of 28 units. Everyone completes the 20 core units below, and the remaining 8 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.
Loading the details for CPCCBL2001…
Loading the details for CPCCBL2001…
Career pathways
Roles this qualification is a recognised route into, and what else you need.
A recognised route into Bricklayer

Bricklayer
Bricklayers lay bricks, blocks and stone to build and repair walls, arches and other masonry structures on construction sites.
Explore this career →- Weekly pay
- $2,317
- Full-time share
- 75%
- Employment size
- 16,700 workers
- Average age
- 38 years
- Average full-time hours
- 42 hours
- Gender share
- 1% female
- Future growth
- +9.8%
- Job market
- In shortage (national)
Complete the bricklaying trade training, relevant workplace or apprenticeship arrangements, construction induction and applicable local licensing requirements. This catalogue groups awards: verify the chosen provider, programme and intake; the family-level link is not confirmation that every offering is approved.
Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).

