Skip to content
careertips

HomeCoursesBeautyCertificate III in Nail Technology

Certificate III in Nail Technology

This qualification trains you to work as a nail technician, either in a salon or running your own station as a self-employed operator.

  • Duration: 4 months to 6 months
  • Study mode: Online and on campus
  • Course code: SHB30321

Where you can study this course

Where
Study mode
  • Campuses
    19 campuses
    Duration
    4 to 6 months
    Study mode
    Varies by campus
    Full fee
    $8,600
    Eligible students: subsidised from $880, concession $240

    What students say

    Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.

  • Campuses
    2 campuses
    Duration
    Not stated by provider
    Study mode
    Varies by campus
    Full fee
    $5,280
    Eligible students: subsidised from $2,490, concession $1,560

    What students say

    Many students rate the facilities and campus highly. Some found course content and organisation and admin frustrating, while opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching.

  • Campuses
    2 campuses
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked

    What students say

    Some students found the course content frustrating and the trainers and teaching lacking, and a number questioned the cost and value, while many value the student support, though opinions on the content are mixed.

  • Campuses
    Not yet checked
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked
  • Campuses
    Joondalup (McLarty Avenue)
    Duration
    Not stated by provider
    Study mode
    On campus
    Full fee
    Not stated by provider

    What students say

    Opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching, with some students finding the organisation and admin frustrating and a number unhappy with the course content.

  • Campuses
    12 campuses
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked
  • Campuses
    2 campuses
    Duration
    Not stated by provider
    Study mode
    Not stated by provider
    Full fee
    $10,118
    Eligible students: subsidised from $6,413, concession $1,283

    What students say

    Students rate the trainers and teaching highly, along with student support and course content. Some students found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on student support.

  • Campuses
    3 campuses
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked

Last reviewed 20 September 2026.

Set your location

Enter your postcode to see the providers closest to you first.

We use your postcode to sort providers by distance and to understand where people are looking to study. See our privacy policy.

Is this course right for you?

Entry requirements

There are no entry requirements for this qualification.

  • Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.

Entry recommendations

To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:

  • an interest in nail care and beauty trends
  • good communication skills for client consultations
  • a careful approach to hygiene and safe work practices
  • attention to detail when applying nail enhancements

What will you learn?

You learn the practical side first: manicures and pedicures, acrylic and gel enhancements, nail art, and how to use electric files without damaging the natural nail. A large part of the job is the conversation with each client, so the course also covers advising on nail care products, checking what they want, and keeping records. Around that sits the business side of salon work, including hygiene and safe work practices, taking payments, and meeting the standards salons are expected to follow.

  • Manicures and pedicures
  • Acrylic nail enhancements
  • Nail art
  • Electric file equipment
  • Product advice for clients
  • Hygiene and safe work practices

Units of competency (10 core, 5 elective)

The qualification is made up of 15 units. Everyone completes the 10 core units below, and the remaining 5 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.

  • Loading the details for SHBBCCS005

Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).