HomeCoursesBuilding and constructionCertificate III in Painting and Decorating
Certificate III in Painting and Decorating
This is the trade qualification for painters and decorators working on houses and commercial buildings.
- Duration: 3 years to 4 years
- Study mode: On campus
- Course code: CPC30620
Where you can study this course
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Melbourne Polytechnic
- Campuses
- 13 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
A number of students find the organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching, while some rate the facilities and campus highly.
- Campuses
- 8 campuses
- Duration
- 3 years to 4 years
- Study mode
- On campus
- Full fee
- $19,030
- Eligible students: subsidised from $2,990, concession $240
What students say
Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

TAFE Gippsland
- Campuses
- 11 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
TAFE Queensland
- Campuses
- 5 campuses
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Not stated by provider
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
What students say
Many students rate the facilities and campus highly. Some found course content and organisation and admin frustrating, while opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching.
- Campuses
- 26 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students rate the trainers, teaching, facilities and campus highly, though some found the organisation, admin and communication frustrating; opinions are mixed on facilities and campus.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
The Gordon
- Campuses
- East Geelong Campus
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Not stated by provider
- Full fee
- $20,422
- Eligible students: subsidised from $3,644, concession $724
What students say
Students rate the trainers and teaching highly, along with the student support and course content. Some found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on student support and course content.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
Holmesglen Institute
- Campuses
- Chadstone
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- On campus
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
What students say
Students have mixed views on the trainers and teaching, and many also mention problems with communication and with organisation and admin.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

Trinity Institute (Australia)
- Campuses
- 2 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Most students rate the trainers and the teaching highly, and many also value the student support. A number of students speak well of the course content.
Last reviewed 20 September 2026.
Is this course right for you?
Entry requirements
There are no entry requirements for this qualification.
- Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.
- Yes, you need general construction induction training, a White Card, before doing construction work. Licensing for painting and decorating differs between states and territories, so check with your local regulator.
Entry recommendations
To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:
- an interest in working with your hands and tools
- a careful approach to surface preparation and finishes
- good communication skills for working with clients and trades
- a willingness to work safely at heights and on site
What will you learn?
You learn to prepare surfaces, apply paint by brush, roller and spray, match colours, stain and clear-coat timber, and hang or remove wallpaper. Because most of the work happens on site, it also covers setting up trestles and scaffolding, working safely at heights and from elevated platforms, reading plans and working out what a job will cost. Most people complete it as an apprenticeship, and you need general construction induction training, a White Card, before doing construction work. Licensing for painting and decorating differs between states and territories, so check with your local regulator.
- Preparing surfaces for painting
- Brushing and rolling paint
- Spray painting techniques
- Matching and mixing colours
- Hanging and removing wallpaper
- Working safely at heights
Units of competency (26 core, 3 elective)
The qualification is made up of 29 units. Everyone completes the 26 core units below, and the remaining 3 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.
Loading the details for CPCCCM2008…
Loading the details for CPCCCM2008…
Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).

