HomeCoursesManufacturing and process operationsCertificate III in Signs and Graphics
Certificate III in Signs and Graphics
You learn to make signs from the first design on screen through to the finished sign on a shopfront or building.
- Duration: 2 years to 3 years
- Study mode: On campus
- Course code: CPC30216
Where you can study this course
- Campuses
- 4 campuses
- Duration
- 2 years to 3 years
- Study mode
- On campus
- Full fee
- $13,190
- Eligible students: subsidised from $2,990, concession $240
What students say
Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

Victoria University
- Campuses
- 11 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Most students praise the student support, while others find it frustrating. Many rate the facilities and campus well, and some criticise the organisation and admin.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
TAFE Queensland
- Campuses
- South Bank
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Not stated by provider
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
What students say
Many students rate the facilities and campus highly. Some found course content and organisation and admin frustrating, while opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching.
- Campuses
- 26 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students rate the trainers, teaching, facilities and campus highly, though some found the organisation, admin and communication frustrating; opinions are mixed on facilities and campus.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
North Metropolitan TAFE
- Campuses
- Midland
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Apprenticeship
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
What students say
Opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching, with some students finding the organisation and admin frustrating and a number unhappy with the course content.
Last reviewed 20 September 2026.
Is this course right for you?
Entry requirements
There are no entry requirements for this qualification.
- Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.
Entry recommendations
To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:
- an interest in design and visual communication
- an eye for colour and detail
- comfort working with tools and materials
- a careful approach to safety on site
What will you learn?
The work covers printing and cutting graphics, mixing and matching colour so it comes out right every time, and building signs from vinyl, acrylic and other materials. Illuminated signs are part of it too, including installing LED lighting and wiring, along with the safety side of working on construction sites.
- Designing signs for production
- Cutting and fitting vinyl signs
- Colour management for print
- Printing digital signs
- LED and illuminated signs
- Fabricating signs and site safety
Units of competency (7 core, 9 elective)
The qualification is made up of 16 units. Everyone completes the 7 core units below, and the remaining 9 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.
Loading the details for CPCCSG3001…
Loading the details for CPCCSG3001…
Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).

