HomeCoursesBuilding and constructionCertificate III in Wall and Ceiling Lining
Certificate III in Wall and Ceiling Lining
This is the trade qualification behind the people who line the inside of buildings: fixing plasterboard to walls and ceilings, then taping, filling and sanding the joints so the surface is ready to paint.
- Duration: 3 years to 4 years
- Study mode: On campus and workplace based
- Course code: CPC31220
Where you can study this course
- Campuses
- 3 campuses
- Duration
- 3 years to 4 years
- Study mode
- On campus
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
What students say
Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
TAFE Queensland
- Campuses
- 2 campuses
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Not stated by provider
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
What students say
Many students rate the facilities and campus highly. Some found course content and organisation and admin frustrating, while opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching.
- Campuses
- 26 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students rate the trainers, teaching, facilities and campus highly, though some found the organisation, admin and communication frustrating; opinions are mixed on facilities and campus.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
Holmesglen Institute
- Campuses
- Chadstone
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Varies by campus
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
What students say
Students have mixed views on the trainers and teaching, and many also mention problems with communication and with organisation and admin.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
North Metropolitan TAFE
- Campuses
- Balga
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Apprenticeship
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
What students say
Opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching, with some students finding the organisation and admin frustrating and a number unhappy with the course content.
- Campuses
- 12 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

Canberra Institute of Technology
- Campuses
- 6 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Most students praise the trainers and teaching highly, and most also rate the cost and value well. Many like the course content, though a number of students had mixed views on the teaching.
- Campuses
- 2 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
Last reviewed 20 September 2026.
Is this course right for you?
Entry requirements
There are no entry requirements for this qualification.
- Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.
Entry recommendations
To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:
- an interest in building and construction work
- good hand skills and a steady hand
- an eye for straight lines and neat finishes
- a willingness to work on site with a team
What will you learn?
You learn to measure and set out from plans, build bulkheads and partitions, fix sheets around wet areas and fire-rated walls, and finish cornices and external ceiling linings. Most people complete it as an apprenticeship, working on site while they train, so the skills build up on real residential and commercial jobs. It is a licensed trade in some states and territories, so it pays to check the rules where you plan to work.
- Reading plans and setting out
- Measuring and calculating materials
- Fixing plasterboard to walls
- Fixing ceiling sheets and cornices
- Taping, filling and sanding joints
- Working safely at heights
Units of competency (22 core, 7 elective)
The qualification is made up of 29 units. Everyone completes the 22 core units below, and the remaining 7 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.
Loading the details for CPCCCA3014…
Loading the details for CPCCCA3014…
Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).

