HomeCoursesVeterinary studiesCertificate IV in Veterinary Nursing
Certificate IV in Veterinary Nursing
A veterinary nurse works under the supervision of a registered vet, nursing animals through illness and surgery and helping owners keep them healthy.
- Duration: 18 months to 2 years
- Study mode: Online and on campus
- Course code: ACM40418
Where you can study this course
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Melbourne Polytechnic
- Campuses
- 13 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
A number of students find the organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching, while some rate the facilities and campus highly.
- Campuses
- 13 campuses
- Duration
- 18 months to 2 years
- Study mode
- Varies by campus
- Full fee
- $14,710
- Eligible students: subsidised from $2,770, concession $240
What students say
Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Charles Darwin University
- Campuses
- 12 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students often praise the facilities and campus, while some value student support and course content. Some found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on trainers and teaching, with communication also a concern.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

TAFE Gippsland
- Campuses
- 11 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
TAFE Queensland
- Campuses
- 4 campuses
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- On campus with some online
- Full fee
- $12,075
- Eligible students: subsidised from $6,955, concession $5,420
What students say
Many students rate the facilities and campus highly. Some found course content and organisation and admin frustrating, while opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching.
- Campuses
- 26 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students rate the trainers, teaching, facilities and campus highly, though some found the organisation, admin and communication frustrating; opinions are mixed on facilities and campus.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Box Hill Institute
- Campuses
- 4 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students speak highly of the trainers and teaching, with the campus and facilities also well regarded. Many found student support frustrating, along with organisation and communication.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
The Gordon
- Campuses
- 2 campuses
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Not stated by provider
- Full fee
- $18,940
- Eligible students: subsidised from $6,102, concession $1,226
What students say
Students rate the trainers and teaching highly, along with the student support and course content. Some found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on student support and course content.
Last reviewed 20 September 2026.
Is this course right for you?
Entry requirements
Entry into this qualification is open to individuals who: hold a Certificate II in Animal Studies OR hold a relevant Certificate III or higher level qualification in an animal science discipline OR can demonstrate equivalent skills and knowledge in a relevant animal science discipline to any of the above qualifications. Refer to the Companion Volume Implementation Guide for details.
- Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.
- The scope of practice for veterinary nurses is determined by state and territory legislative and regulatory requirements. You should refer to the relevant legislation and regulations for your state or territory.
Entry recommendations
To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:
- a genuine care for animals and their wellbeing
- good communication skills with clients and colleagues
- an interest in anatomy, surgery and clinical care
- the ability to stay calm and organised under pressure
What will you learn?
The course covers animal anatomy and physiology, infection control, clinical pathology, imaging, anaesthesia and pain relief, surgical and dental nursing, plus the reception and office work that keeps a clinic running. A required period of work placement happens in a practice, so you deal with real patients, clients and equipment rather than only classroom examples. Entry usually calls for a Certificate II in Animal Studies or a relevant Certificate III, or equivalent skills and knowledge, and what a veterinary nurse is allowed to do is set by state and territory law.
- Animal anatomy and physiology
- Infection control procedures
- Surgical nursing routines
- Anaesthesia and pain monitoring
- Clinical pathology tests
- Veterinary dental nursing
Units of competency (17 core, 4 elective)
The qualification is made up of 21 units. Everyone completes the 17 core units below, and the remaining 4 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.
Loading the details for ACMGAS307…
Loading the details for ACMGAS307…
Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).

