Skip to content
careertips

HomeCoursesEarly childhood educationDiploma of Early Childhood Education and Care

Diploma of Early Childhood Education and Care

This diploma is for people already working in early childhood who want to take on more responsibility: designing the curriculum, keeping the service compliant and guiding other educators.

Illustration of a person working as early childhood educator
  • Duration: 1 year to 2 years
  • Study mode: Online, on campus, blended and workplace based
  • Course code: CHC50125

Where you can study this course

Where
Study mode
  • Campuses
    13 campuses
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked

    What students say

    A number of students find the organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching, while some rate the facilities and campus highly.

  • Campuses
    19 campuses
    Duration
    1 year to 2 years
    Study mode
    Varies by campus
    Full fee
    Not stated by provider

    What students say

    Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.

  • Campuses
    11 campuses
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked

    What students say

    Most students praise the student support, while others find it frustrating. Many rate the facilities and campus well, and some criticise the organisation and admin.

  • Campuses
    4 campuses
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked

    What students say

    Most students rate the student support highly, while many also praise the trainers and teaching. Opinions are mixed on organisation and admin, and some found communication frustrating.

  • Campuses
    12 campuses
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked

    What students say

    Students often praise the facilities and campus, while some value student support and course content. Some found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on trainers and teaching, with communication also a concern.

  • Swinburne University of Technology

    Visit provider website (opens in a new tab)
    Campuses
    8 campuses
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked

    What students say

    Some students praise the facilities and campus, while some criticise organisation and admin for being frustrating, and opinions are mixed on course content. A number also mention student support and teaching positively or negatively.

  • Campuses
    11 campuses
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked
  • Campuses
    26 campuses
    Duration
    Not stated by provider
    Study mode
    Varies by campus
    Full fee
    $7,485
    Eligible students: subsidised from $1,380, concession $75

    What students say

    Many students rate the facilities and campus highly. Some found course content and organisation and admin frustrating, while opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching.

Last reviewed 20 September 2026.

Set your location

Enter your postcode to see the providers closest to you first.

We use your postcode to sort providers by distance and to understand where people are looking to study. See our privacy policy.

Is this course right for you?

Entry requirements

Entry to this qualification is open to individuals who hold: CHC30121 Certificate III in Early Childhood Education and Care (or its equivalent successor) OR CHC30113 Certificate III in Early Childhood Education and Care. Alternatively, individuals may hold: An Australian diploma in Early Childhood Education and Care OR An Australian diploma or certificate III in Children’s Services. AND Demonstrate at least 12 months of cumulative employment (full-time equivalent) within the last 5 years in a regulated education and care service in Australia, supported by verifiable evidence. OR Hold the CHCSS00147 Entry into Diploma of Early Childhood Education and Care.

  • Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.

Entry recommendations

To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:

  • a genuine interest in how young children learn and grow
  • patience and a calm approach to guiding children
  • good communication skills for working with families
  • a willingness to reflect on and improve your own practice

What will you learn?

You learn to plan and run a program built on an approved learning framework, observe children and use what you see to shape what comes next, work closely with families, and include children with additional needs. Study includes a substantial placement in a regulated education and care service, and national child safety training must be completed before any placement hours start. Entry usually calls for a Certificate III in early childhood education and care plus recent experience in the sector, though a bridging course is available if you do not already hold one.

  • Keeping children safe and healthy
  • Planning and running the curriculum
  • Observing children to plan learning
  • Guiding behaviour and inclusion
  • Working with families
  • Compliance and leading a team

Units of competency (12 core, 3 elective)

The qualification is made up of 15 units. Everyone completes the 12 core units below, and the remaining 3 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.

  • Loading the details for CHCECE041

Career pathways

Roles this qualification is a recognised route into, and what else you need.

Where this fits

Diploma of Early Childhood Education and Care in early childhood education: the study that leads into it, the study that follows, and other routes at the same level.

Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).