HomeCoursesRetailCertificate II in Retail Services
Certificate II in Retail Services
This qualification is the starting point for working on the shop floor, whether that is a supermarket, a department store, a specialty retailer or a quick service restaurant.
- Duration: 4 months to 6 months
- Study mode: Online, on campus and workplace based
- Course code: SIR20216
Where you can study this course
- Campuses
- 9 campuses
- Duration
- 4 to 6 months
- Study mode
- Varies by campus
- Full fee
- $4,600
- Eligible students: subsidised from $880, concession $160
What students say
Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Charles Darwin University
- Campuses
- 12 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students often praise the facilities and campus, while some value student support and course content. Some found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on trainers and teaching, with communication also a concern.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Box Hill Institute
- Campuses
- 4 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students speak highly of the trainers and teaching, with the campus and facilities also well regarded. Many found student support frustrating, along with organisation and communication.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

Axiom College
- Campuses
- 4 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Most students rate the trainers and teaching highly, and many value the student support. A number of students found communication frustrating.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
North Metropolitan TAFE
- Campuses
- 16 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching, with some students finding the organisation and admin frustrating and a number unhappy with the course content.
- Campuses
- 2 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
Central Regional TAFE
- Campuses
- Exmouth
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Online
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
South Regional TAFE
- Campuses
- Bunbury
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Varies by campus
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
Last reviewed 20 September 2026.
Is this course right for you?
Entry requirements
There are no entry requirements for this qualification.
- Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.
Entry recommendations
To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:
- an interest in helping customers face to face
- good communication skills for working in a team
- a willingness to learn on the job
- a careful attitude to safety and security
What will you learn?
You learn how to serve customers face to face and at the register, how to talk about products and give useful advice, and how to keep your own tasks organised through a shift. It also covers the parts of retail that new staff often don't expect: handling security risks like theft, following workplace health and safety, and communicating with the team around you. The work is largely routine and closely supervised at first, which makes it a realistic first job or a way to get a foot in the door without prior experience.
- Serving customers
- Point-of-sale operations
- Advising on products
- Working in a team
- Workplace health and safety
- Spotting security risks
Units of competency (7 core, 5 elective)
The qualification is made up of 12 units. Everyone completes the 7 core units below, and the remaining 5 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.
Loading the details for SIRXCEG001…
Loading the details for SIRXCEG001…
Where this fits
Certificate II in Retail Services in retail: the study that leads into it, the study that follows, and other routes at the same level.
Before
No earlier step listed.
You are looking at
Certificate II in Retail Services
After
Certificate IIICertificate III in RetailMove up to supervising other staff and managing difficult customer situations, security and safety on the shop floor.Certificate IVCertificate IV in Retail ManagementIf you already hold a Certificate III in Retail or have relevant industry experience, this prepares you to run a store and read its financials.Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).
