HomeCoursesFood science and productionCertificate III in Cake and Pastry
Certificate III in Cake and Pastry
You learn to make the cakes, pastries and biscuits sold in bakeries and cafes, using commercial equipment and recipes scaled up to production sizes.
- Duration: 18 months to 2 years
- Study mode: On campus
- Course code: FBP30321
Where you can study this course
- Campuses
- 8 campuses
- Duration
- 18 months to 2 years
- Study mode
- Varies by campus
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
What students say
Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Charles Darwin University
- Campuses
- 12 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students often praise the facilities and campus, while some value student support and course content. Some found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on trainers and teaching, with communication also a concern.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
TAFE Queensland
- Campuses
- 8 campuses
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Not stated by provider
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
What students say
Many students rate the facilities and campus highly. Some found course content and organisation and admin frustrating, while opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching.
- Campuses
- 26 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students rate the trainers, teaching, facilities and campus highly, though some found the organisation, admin and communication frustrating; opinions are mixed on facilities and campus.
- Campuses
- 12 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

Canberra Institute of Technology
- Campuses
- 6 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Most students praise the trainers and teaching highly, and most also rate the cost and value well. Many like the course content, though a number of students had mixed views on the teaching.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
South Metropolitan TAFE
- Campuses
- Bentley
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Apprenticeship
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
What students say
Students often rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on both teaching and campus facilities. Some also found student support frustrating to access.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
South West Institute of TAFE
- Campuses
- 5 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
Last reviewed 20 September 2026.
Is this course right for you?
Entry requirements
There are no entry requirements for this qualification.
- Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.
Entry recommendations
To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:
- an interest in baking cakes, pastries and biscuits
- a careful approach to food safety and hygiene
- good numeracy for measuring and adjusting recipes
- the ability to work efficiently in a commercial kitchen
What will you learn?
The training covers lamination for croissants and danishes, sponges, puddings, biscuits and a few basic artisan products, along with food safety and workplace health and safety. You also practise planning a day's production so everything comes out on time, and the measurements and calculations that come up when you adjust a recipe or work out quantities. Most of the work happens in a commercial kitchen, so you build speed and consistency rather than one-off showpieces.
- Food safety and hygiene
- Laminated pastry and dough
- Sponges, cakes and puddings
- Biscuits and cookies
- Fillings and food preparation
- Scheduling cake and pastry production
Units of competency (11 core, 4 elective)
The qualification is made up of 15 units. Everyone completes the 11 core units below, and the remaining 4 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.
Loading the details for FBPFSY2002…
Loading the details for FBPFSY2002…
Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).

