HomeCoursesFitness and sportCertificate III in Fitness
Certificate III in Fitness
This qualification prepares you to work as a group fitness instructor and gym instructor, running classes and writing exercise programs for individual members.
- Duration: 4 months to 1 year
- Study mode: Online, on campus and workplace based
- Course code: SIS30321
Where you can study this course
- Campuses
- 13 campuses
- Duration
- 4 months to 1 year
- Study mode
- Varies by campus
- Full fee
- $8,160
- Eligible students: subsidised from $1,450, concession $240
What students say
Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Charles Darwin University
- Campuses
- 12 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students often praise the facilities and campus, while some value student support and course content. Some found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on trainers and teaching, with communication also a concern.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
TAFE Queensland
- Campuses
- 3 campuses
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Varies by campus
- Full fee
- $4,215
- Eligible students: subsidised from $2,145, concession $1,440
What students say
Many students rate the facilities and campus highly. Some found course content and organisation and admin frustrating, while opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching.
- Campuses
- 26 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students rate the trainers, teaching, facilities and campus highly, though some found the organisation, admin and communication frustrating; opinions are mixed on facilities and campus.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Box Hill Institute
- Campuses
- 4 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students speak highly of the trainers and teaching, with the campus and facilities also well regarded. Many found student support frustrating, along with organisation and communication.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
Holmesglen Institute
- Campuses
- Glen Waverley
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- On campus
- Full fee
- $7,064
- Eligible students: subsidised from $5,048, concession $1,010
What students say
Students have mixed views on the trainers and teaching, and many also mention problems with communication and with organisation and admin.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Central Queensland University
- Campuses
- 18 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
A number of students praise the student support and campus facilities, while many found the organisation and admin frustrating and some had trouble with the enrolment process. Opinions are mixed on student support.
- Campuses
- 19 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Most students rate the trainers and teaching highly, and many value the course content and student support. A few found the organisation and admin, and the communication, frustrating.
Last reviewed 20 September 2026.
Is this course right for you?
Entry requirements
There are no entry requirements for this qualification.
- Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.
Entry recommendations
To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:
- an interest in keeping active and helping others do the same
- good communication skills for instructing groups and individuals
- a patient, encouraging attitude towards people at different fitness levels
- an interest in how the body works during exercise
What will you learn?
You learn to screen clients before they start, assess their fitness, and build sessions around their goals, along with the anatomy and physiology that keeps the exercise safe. You also cover first aid, workplace health and safety, and the basics of healthy eating advice, so you can answer common questions without stepping outside your role. There are no entry requirements, so it suits school leavers and career changers alike, and you would typically work in a gym, fitness studio or community leisure centre under general supervision.
- Running group exercise classes
- Planning gym programs for clients
- Fitness assessments and screening
- Anatomy and how the body moves
- First aid and workplace safety
- Healthy eating basics
Units of competency (11 core, 4 elective)
The qualification is made up of 15 units. Everyone completes the 11 core units below, and the remaining 4 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.
Loading the details for BSBOPS304…
Loading the details for BSBOPS304…
Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).


