HomeCoursesFood science and productionCertificate III in Meat Processing (Retail Butcher)
Certificate III in Meat Processing (Retail Butcher)
This is the trade qualification for retail butchers, covering the whole job from breaking a carcase down to serving the customer who buys the meat.
- Duration: 30 months to 3 years
- Study mode: On campus and workplace based
- Course code: AMP30815
Where you can study this course
- Campuses
- 5 campuses
- Duration
- 30 months to 3 years
- Study mode
- Varies by campus
- Full fee
- $12,760
- Eligible students: subsidised from $2,190, concession $240
What students say
Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Charles Darwin University
- Campuses
- 12 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students often praise the facilities and campus, while some value student support and course content. Some found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on trainers and teaching, with communication also a concern.
- Campuses
- 26 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students rate the trainers, teaching, facilities and campus highly, though some found the organisation, admin and communication frustrating; opinions are mixed on facilities and campus.
- Campuses
- 12 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

Canberra Institute of Technology
- Campuses
- 6 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Most students praise the trainers and teaching highly, and most also rate the cost and value well. Many like the course content, though a number of students had mixed views on the teaching.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
South Metropolitan TAFE
- Campuses
- Bentley
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Apprenticeship
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
What students say
Students often rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on both teaching and campus facilities. Some also found student support frustrating to access.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Axial Training Pty Ltd
- Campuses
- 4 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
South West Institute of TAFE
- Campuses
- 5 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
Last reviewed 20 September 2026.
Is this course right for you?
Entry requirements
There are no entry requirements for this qualification.
- Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.
Entry recommendations
To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:
- an interest in working with meat and food
- good hand skills and care with knives and equipment
- a friendly approach to serving and advising customers
- a careful attitude to hygiene and safe work
What will you learn?
You learn to identify species and cuts, trim and prepare meat, use a bandsaw, make mince and sausages, then weigh, package and label products for sale. Hygiene, safe work, quality assurance and HACCP run through all of it, along with the advice customers ask for on cooking and storing meat. Sharpening knives and looking after your own equipment are part of the routine you are trained for.
- Identifying meat cuts
- Breaking carcases with a bandsaw
- Making mince and sausages
- Food hygiene and HACCP
- Sharpening and maintaining knives
- Serving and advising customers
Units of competency (37 core, 7 elective)
The qualification is made up of 44 units. Everyone completes the 37 core units below, and the remaining 7 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.
Loading the details for AMPCOR201…
Loading the details for AMPCOR201…
Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).

