HomeCoursesFitness and sportCertificate III in Outdoor Leadership
Certificate III in Outdoor Leadership
This qualification trains you to lead groups through outdoor activities, usually following an activity plan set by your employer and adjusting it as weather, conditions and the group's ability change.
- Duration: 6 months
- Study mode: On campus
- Course code: SIS30619
Where you can study this course
- Campuses
- Newcastle, Tighes Hill Campus
- Duration
- 6 months
- Study mode
- On campus
- Full fee
- $12,850
- Eligible students: subsidised from $2,130, concession $240
What students say
Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
TAFE Queensland
- Campuses
- 30 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Many students rate the facilities and campus highly. Some found course content and organisation and admin frustrating, while opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Avondale University
- Campuses
- 2 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
- Campuses
- 12 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
South Metropolitan TAFE
- Campuses
- Fremantle
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- On campus
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
What students say
Students often rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on both teaching and campus facilities. Some also found student support frustrating to access.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
South Regional TAFE
- Campuses
- South Regional TAFE - Narrogin
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

Envirotech Education
- Campuses
- Envirotech Education
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students rate the trainers and teaching highly, with many also valuing student support and course content. Some found organisation and admin frustrating, and a number mentioned communication and cost.
Last reviewed 20 September 2026.
Is this course right for you?
Entry requirements
There are no entry requirements for this qualification.
- Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.
Entry recommendations
To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:
- an enjoyment of being outdoors in different conditions
- a calm approach when plans change or problems arise
- good communication skills for leading and supporting groups
- an interest in keeping people safe and looked after
What will you learn?
You learn to keep participants safe: spotting hazards, assessing and controlling risk, reading weather and environmental conditions, and responding when something goes wrong. The rest of the course covers the practical side of running a session, including equipment checks and maintenance, communication systems, customer service and the workplace health and safety rules that apply in the field. It suits people who enjoy the outdoors and want to work in camps, adventure learning centres or commercial recreation businesses, where you would lead dependent participants with support from base rather than working fully on your own.
- Leading groups on outdoor activities
- Risk assessment and hazard control
- Reading weather and conditions
- Emergency response and first aid
- Gear checks and maintenance
- Communication and customer service
Units of competency (9 core, 13 elective)
The qualification is made up of 22 units. Everyone completes the 9 core units below, and the remaining 13 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.
Loading the details for HLTWHS001…
Loading the details for HLTWHS001…
Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).
