HomeCoursesBeautyCertificate IV in Beauty Therapy
Certificate IV in Beauty Therapy
This course trains you to work as a beauty therapist in a salon or spa, covering the treatments a client books most often: facials and skin care advice, waxing, spray tanning, body massage, lash and brow services, make-up, and manicures and pedicures.
- Duration: 2 years to 30 months
- Study mode: Online, on campus and workplace based
- Course code: SHB40121
Where you can study this course
- Campuses
- 24 campuses
- Duration
- 2 years to 30 months
- Study mode
- Varies by campus
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
What students say
Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

TAFE Gippsland
- Campuses
- 11 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
- Campuses
- 2 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Some students found the course content frustrating and the trainers and teaching lacking, and a number questioned the cost and value, while many value the student support, though opinions on the content are mixed.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
The Gordon
- Campuses
- Geelong City Campus
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Not stated by provider
- Full fee
- $13,280
- Eligible students: subsidised from $5,897, concession $1,182
What students say
Students rate the trainers and teaching highly, along with the student support and course content. Some found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on student support and course content.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

Open Colleges
- Campuses
- Not yet checked
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Central Queensland University
- Campuses
- 18 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
A number of students praise the student support and campus facilities, while many found the organisation and admin frustrating and some had trouble with the enrolment process. Opinions are mixed on student support.
- Campuses
- 2 campuses
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- On campus & online
- Full fee
- $18,525
- Eligible students: subsidised from $6,270, concession $1,254
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
North Metropolitan TAFE
- Campuses
- Joondalup (McLarty Avenue)
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Varies by campus
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
What students say
Opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching, with some students finding the organisation and admin frustrating and a number unhappy with the course content.
Last reviewed 20 September 2026.
Is this course right for you?
Entry requirements
There are no entry requirements for this qualification.
- Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.
Entry recommendations
To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:
- an interest in skin care and beauty treatments
- good communication skills for consulting with clients
- a careful, hygienic approach to your work
- an enjoyment of hands-on practical work
What will you learn?
Alongside the hands-on skills you learn the skin and body structure behind each treatment, so you can explain what suits a client and recommend products rather than just follow a routine. The client side of the job is built in too, including consultations, retail selling, handling payments and keeping the salon clean and hygienic. You finish able to work with limited supervision, managing your own clients and judging when a treatment should be adapted.
- Facial treatments and skin care
- Waxing and spray tanning
- Body massage techniques
- Lash, brow and make-up
- Manicures and pedicures
- Hygiene and safe work practices
Units of competency (18 core, 5 elective)
The qualification is made up of 23 units. Everyone completes the 18 core units below, and the remaining 5 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.
Loading the details for SHBBBOS007…
Loading the details for SHBBBOS007…
Where this fits
Certificate IV in Beauty Therapy in beauty: the study that leads into it, the study that follows, and other routes at the same level.
You are looking at
Certificate IV in Beauty Therapy
Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).
