HomeCoursesMassage and myotherapyCertificate IV in Massage Therapy
Certificate IV in Massage Therapy
This course prepares you to work as a massage therapist providing general health maintenance, mostly through relaxation massage.
- Duration: 4 months to 6 months
- Study mode: Online and on campus
- Course code: HLT42021
Where you can study this course
- Campuses
- 8 campuses
- Duration
- 4 to 6 months
- Study mode
- Varies by campus
- Full fee
- $10,530
- Eligible students: subsidised from $1,990, concession $240
What students say
Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
TAFE Queensland
- Campuses
- 2 campuses
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- On campus with some online
- Full fee
- $8,830
What students say
Many students rate the facilities and campus highly. Some found course content and organisation and admin frustrating, while opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

Evolve College Pty Ltd
- Campuses
- 17 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Most students rate the trainers and the teaching highly, while many value the career outcomes and some praise the student support.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

Canberra Institute of Technology
- Campuses
- 6 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Most students praise the trainers and teaching highly, and most also rate the cost and value well. Many like the course content, though a number of students had mixed views on the teaching.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)

Chisholm Institute
- Campuses
- Frankston
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Not stated by provider
- Full fee
- $11,915
- Eligible students: subsidised from $5,555, concession $1,111
What students say
Students rate the trainers and teaching highly, along with student support and course content. Some students found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on student support.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
Central Regional TAFE
- Campuses
- Kalgoorlie
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Online and on campus
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
South Metropolitan TAFE
- Campuses
- 14 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students often rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on both teaching and campus facilities. Some also found student support frustrating to access.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
South Regional TAFE
- Campuses
- Albany
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Classroom
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
Last reviewed 20 September 2026.
Is this course right for you?
Entry requirements
There are no entry requirements for this qualification.
- Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.
Entry recommendations
To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:
- an interest in helping people relax and feel better
- a calm and reassuring manner with clients
- good listening skills for understanding client needs
- attention to detail when keeping client records
What will you learn?
You learn to assess what a client needs, take a health history and check for conditions that would make treatment unsuitable, then deliver a massage safely and keep the records and consent that go with it. Much of the training happens in a supervised clinic, where you build hands-on hours with clients rather than only practising on classmates. It suits people aiming for their own practice or a role in a clinic, spa or health service, and it does not cover remedial massage.
- Relaxation massage technique
- Assessing client needs
- Client health histories
- Infection control and hygiene
- Consent and client records
- Legal and ethical practice
Units of competency (10 core, 3 elective)
The qualification is made up of 13 units. Everyone completes the 10 core units below, and the remaining 3 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.
Loading the details for CHCCOM006…
Loading the details for CHCCOM006…
Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).
