Skip to content
careertips

HomeCoursesMassage and myotherapyDiploma of Remedial Massage

Diploma of Remedial Massage

A remedial massage therapist works with clients who have soft tissue pain, joint restrictions or limited movement, and this diploma trains you to assess and treat those problems rather than simply give a relaxing massage.

Illustration of a person working as massage therapist
  • Duration: 8 months to 18 months
  • Study mode: Online and on campus
  • Course code: HLT52021

Where you can study this course

Where
Study mode
  • Campuses
    8 campuses
    Duration
    8 months to 18 months
    Study mode
    Varies by campus
    Full fee
    Not stated by provider

    What students say

    Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.

  • Campuses
    11 campuses
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked

    What students say

    Most students praise the student support, while others find it frustrating. Many rate the facilities and campus well, and some criticise the organisation and admin.

  • Campuses
    15 campuses
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked

    What students say

    Students often find organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching, while some praise the facilities and campus and student support.

  • Campuses
    4 campuses
    Duration
    Not stated by provider
    Study mode
    Varies by campus
    Full fee
    $13,965

    What students say

    Many students rate the facilities and campus highly. Some found course content and organisation and admin frustrating, while opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching.

  • Campuses
    Geelong City Campus
    Duration
    Not stated by provider
    Study mode
    Not stated by provider
    Full fee
    $24,198
    Eligible students: subsidised from $13,490

    What students say

    Students rate the trainers and teaching highly, along with the student support and course content. Some found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on student support and course content.

  • Campuses
    EQUALS
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked

    What students say

    Most students rate the trainers and teaching highly, and many value the student support, though some found the organisation and admin frustrating. A number of students also had mixed experiences with student support.

  • Campuses
    17 campuses
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked

    What students say

    Most students rate the trainers and the teaching highly, while many value the career outcomes and some praise the student support.

  • Campuses
    Mastery Institute Australia
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked

    What students say

    Most students praise the trainers and teaching, with many also valuing the student support on offer. Some speak well of the course content.

Last reviewed 20 September 2026.

Set your location

Enter your postcode to see the providers closest to you first.

We use your postcode to sort providers by distance and to understand where people are looking to study. See our privacy policy.

Is this course right for you?

Entry requirements

There are no entry requirements for this qualification.

  • Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.

Entry recommendations

To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:

  • an interest in helping people manage pain and movement problems
  • good communication skills for working with clients and health professionals
  • a careful and ethical approach to client care
  • the confidence to work with your hands in a clinical setting

What will you learn?

You study anatomy and how to check a client's physical health, then build treatment plans and use hands-on techniques for injuries, ongoing pain and restricted movement, adapting them for pregnancy, older clients or particular conditions. The course also covers the business side of practice: keeping client records, infection control, legal and ethical obligations, and working alongside physiotherapists, doctors and other health professionals. Much of the training happens in a supervised clinic where you treat clients under guidance, which is how you build the practical experience employers and health funds look for.

  • Musculoskeletal assessment
  • Remedial massage techniques
  • Adapting treatments to needs
  • Pain neuroscience basics
  • Working with health professionals
  • Practice management and compliance

Units of competency (18 core, 3 elective)

The qualification is made up of 21 units. Everyone completes the 18 core units below, and the remaining 3 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.

  • Loading the details for BSBESB401

Career pathways

Roles this qualification is a recognised route into, and what else you need.

Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).