Skip to content
careertips

HomeCoursesAccountingDiploma of Accounting

Diploma of Accounting

The Diploma of Accounting builds on bookkeeping study and moves you into accounting work proper: preparing financial reports for companies, setting and managing budgets, and producing management accounting information that helps a business make decisions.

  • Duration: 6 months to 2 years
  • Study mode: Online and on campus
  • Course code: FNS50222

Where you can study this course

Where
Study mode
  • Campuses
    13 campuses
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked

    What students say

    A number of students find the organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching, while some rate the facilities and campus highly.

  • Campuses
    5 campuses
    Duration
    6 months to 2 years
    Study mode
    Varies by campus
    Full fee
    Not stated by provider

    What students say

    Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.

  • Campuses
    11 campuses
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked

    What students say

    Most students praise the student support, while others find it frustrating. Many rate the facilities and campus well, and some criticise the organisation and admin.

  • Swinburne University of Technology

    Visit provider website (opens in a new tab)
    Campuses
    8 campuses
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked

    What students say

    Some students praise the facilities and campus, while some criticise organisation and admin for being frustrating, and opinions are mixed on course content. A number also mention student support and teaching positively or negatively.

  • Campuses
    11 campuses
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked
  • Campuses
    15 campuses
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked

    What students say

    Students often find organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching, while some praise the facilities and campus and student support.

  • Campuses
    South Bank
    Duration
    Not stated by provider
    Study mode
    On campus with some online
    Full fee
    $10,505
    Eligible students: subsidised from $8,780, concession $8,250

    What students say

    Many students rate the facilities and campus highly. Some found course content and organisation and admin frustrating, while opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching.

  • Campuses
    Monarch Institute
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked

    What students say

    Many students rate the student support highly, and many also praise the trainers, teaching and course content, though some found the course content mixed and a number questioned the cost and value.

Last reviewed 20 September 2026.

Set your location

Enter your postcode to see the providers closest to you first.

We use your postcode to sort providers by distance and to understand where people are looking to study. See our privacy policy.

Is this course right for you?

Entry requirements

Prior to commencing this qualification an individual must have completed the following units of competency (or equivalent). FNSACC321 Process financial transactions and extract interim reports FNSACC322 Administer subsidiary accounts and ledgers FNSACC418 Work effectively in the accounting and bookkeeping industry FNSACC421 Prepare financial reports (this unit is the equivalent version of BSBFIA401 Prepare financial reports). These competencies may have been achieved through completion of the following (or their equivalent): FNSSS00014 Accounting Principles Skill Set or FNS40222 Certificate IV in Accounting and Bookkeeping.

  • Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.
  • Work functions are subject to regulatory requirements. The qualification includes units that comprise an approved Tax Practitioner Board (TPB) course in Australian taxation law and commercial law, relevant for registration as a tax agent. Check current registration requirements with the TPB.

Entry recommendations

To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:

  • an interest in numbers and financial records
  • a careful, accurate approach to your work
  • confidence using spreadsheets and business software
  • an interest in tax and business law

What will you learn?

You also learn to prepare tax documentation for individuals, keep internal controls in place, and build complex spreadsheets that hold it all together. It suits people working towards roles such as tax agent, accounts payable or receivable officer, payroll service provider, or an accounting all rounder inside a larger organisation. Entry assumes you have already completed the Certificate IV in Accounting and Bookkeeping or its equivalent units, and some of the tax and commercial law units count towards the Tax Practitioner Board course required for tax agent registration.

  • Complex spreadsheets
  • Budgets and forecasts
  • Financial reports for companies
  • Individual tax returns
  • Management accounting
  • Internal control procedures

Units of competency (7 core, 4 elective)

The qualification is made up of 11 units. Everyone completes the 7 core units below, and the remaining 4 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.

  • Loading the details for BSBTEC402

Where this fits

Diploma of Accounting in accounting: the study that leads into it, the study that follows, and other routes at the same level.

Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).