HomeCoursesNursingDiploma of Nursing
Diploma of Nursing
Studying this diploma prepares you to work as an enrolled nurse, caring for people at every stage of life in hospitals, aged care, community health and clinics.

- Duration: 18 months to 2 years
- Study mode: Online and on campus
- Course code: HLT54121
Where you can study this course
- Campuses
- 21 campuses
- Duration
- 18 months to 2 years
- Study mode
- Varies by campus
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
What students say
Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

Victoria University
- Campuses
- 11 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Most students praise the student support, while others find it frustrating. Many rate the facilities and campus well, and some criticise the organisation and admin.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

Stanley College
- Campuses
- 4 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Most students rate the student support highly, while many also praise the trainers and teaching. Opinions are mixed on organisation and admin, and some found communication frustrating.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Charles Darwin University
- Campuses
- 12 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students often praise the facilities and campus, while some value student support and course content. Some found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on trainers and teaching, with communication also a concern.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Swinburne University of Technology
- Campuses
- 8 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Some students praise the facilities and campus, while some criticise organisation and admin for being frustrating, and opinions are mixed on course content. A number also mention student support and teaching positively or negatively.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

TAFE Gippsland
- Campuses
- 11 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

RMIT University
- Campuses
- 15 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students often find organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching, while some praise the facilities and campus and student support.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
TAFE Queensland
- Campuses
- 10 campuses
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Varies by campus
- Full fee
- $26,475
- Eligible students: subsidised from $16,425, concession $14,250
What students say
Many students rate the facilities and campus highly. Some found course content and organisation and admin frustrating, while opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching.
Last reviewed 20 September 2026.
Is this course right for you?
Entry requirements
There are no entry requirements for this qualification.
- Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.
- Yes. To register and practise as an enrolled nurse in Australia you must complete a Diploma of Nursing program accredited by ANMAC and approved by the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia. Check the provider's accreditation with AHPRA before you enrol.
Entry recommendations
To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:
- a genuine interest in caring for people
- good communication skills
- an ability to work calmly under supervision
- respect for people from all backgrounds
What will you learn?
You learn to assess a patient's condition, plan and carry out their care, manage wounds, give medicines and intravenous therapy, and look after people with acute, chronic or mental health conditions. The course also covers working with people from different backgrounds, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultural safety, legal and ethical responsibilities, infection control and end of life care. To register and practise in Australia you need to complete a program accredited by ANMAC and approved by the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia, so check the provider's accreditation with AHPRA before you enrol.
- Assessing a patient's health
- Giving medicines and IV therapy
- Wound care and infection control
- Acute, chronic and aged care
- Mental health and palliative care
- Legal, ethical and cultural practice
Units of competency (20 core, 5 elective)
The qualification is made up of 25 units. Everyone completes the 20 core units below, and the remaining 5 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.
Loading the details for CHCDIV001…
Loading the details for CHCDIV001…
Career pathways
Roles this qualification is a recognised route into, and what else you need.
A recognised route into Enrolled Nurse

Enrolled Nurse
Enrolled nurses give hands-on clinical care in hospitals, aged care homes and community settings, working under the supervision of a registered nurse or doctor.
Explore this career →- Weekly pay
- $1,777
- Full-time share
- 50%
- Employment size
- 21,800 workers
- Average age
- 38 years
- Average full-time hours
- 41 hours
- Gender share
- 87% female
- Future growth
- +21.3%
- Job market
- Not in shortage
Complete an NMBA-approved Diploma of Nursing and all placements, then meet enrolled-nurse registration requirements. This is not a registered-nurse qualification. This catalogue groups awards: verify the chosen provider, programme and intake; the family-level link is not confirmation that every offering is approved.
Where this fits
Diploma of Nursing in nursing: the study that leads into it, the study that follows, and other routes at the same level.
Before
No earlier step listed.
You are looking at
Diploma of Nursing
Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).
