HomeCoursesFood science and productionCertificate III in Patisserie
Certificate III in Patisserie
This course teaches you to make the cakes, pastries, desserts and yeast-based products a pastry kitchen turns out each day, working at commercial scale rather than a home bench.
- Duration: 18 months to 30 months
- Study mode: Online and on campus
- Course code: SIT31021
Where you can study this course
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Melbourne Polytechnic
- Campuses
- 13 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
A number of students find the organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching, while some rate the facilities and campus highly.
- Campuses
- 5 campuses
- Duration
- 18 months to 30 months
- Study mode
- Varies by campus
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
What students say
Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

Victoria University
- Campuses
- 11 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Most students praise the student support, while others find it frustrating. Many rate the facilities and campus well, and some criticise the organisation and admin.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
TAFE Queensland
- Campuses
- South Bank
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- On campus with some online
- Full fee
- $16,110
What students say
Many students rate the facilities and campus highly. Some found course content and organisation and admin frustrating, while opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching.
- Campuses
- 26 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students rate the trainers, teaching, facilities and campus highly, though some found the organisation, admin and communication frustrating; opinions are mixed on facilities and campus.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Box Hill Institute
- Campuses
- 4 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students speak highly of the trainers and teaching, with the campus and facilities also well regarded. Many found student support frustrating, along with organisation and communication.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
Holmesglen Institute
- Campuses
- Glen Waverley
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Varies by campus
- Full fee
- $12,583
- Eligible students: subsidised from $4,195, concession $839
What students say
Students have mixed views on the trainers and teaching, and many also mention problems with communication and with organisation and admin.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
North Metropolitan TAFE
- Campuses
- Joondalup (Kendrew Crescent)
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- On campus
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
What students say
Opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching, with some students finding the organisation and admin frustrating and a number unhappy with the course content.
Last reviewed 20 September 2026.
Is this course right for you?
Entry requirements
There are no entry requirements for this qualification.
- Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.
Entry recommendations
To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:
- an interest in making cakes, pastries and desserts
- a careful approach to food safety and hygiene
- good hand skills and attention to detail
- a willingness to learn in a busy kitchen
What will you learn?
You pick up the food safety and hygiene rules that govern a kitchen, how to keep equipment and work areas clean, and how to store and rotate stock so ingredients stay usable. Most of the learning happens on the job or in a simulated kitchen, and the aim is consistent results to a set standard with only limited supervision. It suits people already working in a kitchen who want to specialise in pastry, and newcomers prepared to start at the bench and build speed.
- Cakes and specialised cakes
- Pastries and yeast-based products
- Desserts and petits fours
- Food safety and hygiene
- Kitchen equipment and cleaning
- Stock control and coaching others
Units of competency (15 core, 6 elective)
The qualification is made up of 21 units. Everyone completes the 15 core units below, and the remaining 6 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.
Loading the details for SITHCCC023…
Loading the details for SITHCCC023…
Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).

