HomeCoursesFood science and productionCertificate IV in Patisserie
Certificate IV in Patisserie
This qualification is for people who want to work as pastry chefs, preparing cakes, pastries, desserts, chocolates and showpieces at a level where they can run a section or lead a small team.
- Study mode: Online and on campus
- Course code: SIT40721
Where you can study this course
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Melbourne Polytechnic
- Campuses
- 13 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
A number of students find the organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching, while some rate the facilities and campus highly.
- Campuses
- 40 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
TAFE Queensland
- Campuses
- South Bank
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- On campus with some online
- Full fee
- $8,810
What students say
Many students rate the facilities and campus highly. Some found course content and organisation and admin frustrating, while opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching.
- Campuses
- 26 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students rate the trainers, teaching, facilities and campus highly, though some found the organisation, admin and communication frustrating; opinions are mixed on facilities and campus.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Box Hill Institute
- Campuses
- 4 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students speak highly of the trainers and teaching, with the campus and facilities also well regarded. Many found student support frustrating, along with organisation and communication.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
Holmesglen Institute
- Campuses
- Glen Waverley
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- On campus
- Full fee
- $19,620
- Eligible students: subsidised from $6,475, concession $1,295
What students say
Students have mixed views on the trainers and teaching, and many also mention problems with communication and with organisation and admin.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
North Metropolitan TAFE
- Campuses
- Joondalup (Kendrew Crescent)
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- On campus
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
What students say
Opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching, with some students finding the organisation and admin frustrating and a number unhappy with the course content.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

Salford College
- Campuses
- 3 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Most students speak highly of the student support, and many rate the trainers and teaching well, while some found the organisation and admin frustrating and a few had issues with communication and value for money.
Last reviewed 20 September 2026.
Is this course right for you?
Entry requirements
There are no entry requirements for this qualification.
- Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.
Entry recommendations
To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:
- an interest in baking and dessert making
- good communication skills for kitchen teams
- an eye for detail in decoration
- patience for precise preparation work
What will you learn?
You learn the full range of patisserie work, from basic food preparation and hygiene through to specialised cakes, petits fours, marzipan modelling and sugar decorations. Alongside the cooking, there are units on planning kitchen operations, managing conflict and budgeting, which reflect the supervisory side of the role. It suits someone who already has some kitchen experience, though there are no formal entry requirements.
- Cakes and specialised cakes
- Pastries and yeast-based products
- Petits fours and desserts
- Chocolate and sugar work
- Marzipan modelling and showpieces
- Kitchen supervision and budgeting
Units of competency (26 core, 6 elective)
The qualification is made up of 32 units. Everyone completes the 26 core units below, and the remaining 6 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.
Loading the details for BSBTWK501…
Loading the details for BSBTWK501…
Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).

