HomeCoursesFitness and sportCertificate IV in Fitness
Certificate IV in Fitness
This is the qualification that turns a gym instructor into a personal trainer.

- Duration: 4 months to 6 months
- Study mode: Online and on campus
- Course code: SIS40221
Where you can study this course
- Campuses
- 6 campuses
- Duration
- 4 to 6 months
- Study mode
- Varies by campus
- Full fee
- $11,390
- Eligible students: subsidised from $2,360, concession $240
What students say
Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Charles Darwin University
- Campuses
- 12 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students often praise the facilities and campus, while some value student support and course content. Some found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on trainers and teaching, with communication also a concern.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
TAFE Queensland
- Campuses
- South Bank
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- On campus
- Full fee
- $5,475
What students say
Many students rate the facilities and campus highly. Some found course content and organisation and admin frustrating, while opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching.
- Campuses
- 26 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students rate the trainers, teaching, facilities and campus highly, though some found the organisation, admin and communication frustrating; opinions are mixed on facilities and campus.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Box Hill Institute
- Campuses
- 4 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students speak highly of the trainers and teaching, with the campus and facilities also well regarded. Many found student support frustrating, along with organisation and communication.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
Holmesglen Institute
- Campuses
- Glen Waverley
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- On campus
- Full fee
- $15,615
- Eligible students: subsidised from $9,741, concession $1,949
What students say
Students have mixed views on the trainers and teaching, and many also mention problems with communication and with organisation and admin.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Central Queensland University
- Campuses
- 18 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
A number of students praise the student support and campus facilities, while many found the organisation and admin frustrating and some had trouble with the enrolment process. Opinions are mixed on student support.
- Campuses
- 19 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Most students rate the trainers and teaching highly, and many value the course content and student support. A few found the organisation and admin, and the communication, frustrating.
Last reviewed 20 September 2026.
Is this course right for you?
Entry requirements
Entry to this qualification is open to individuals who hold the following units of competency or units that have been superseded by these units: HLTAID011 Provide First Aid (or a unit that supersedes this unit) HLTWHS001 Participate in workplace health and safety SISFFIT032 Complete pre-exercise screening and service orientation SISFFIT033 Complete client fitness assessments SISFFIT035 Plan group exercise sessions SISFFIT036 Instruct group exercise sessions SISFFIT040 Develop and instruct gym-based exercise programs for individual clients SISFFIT047 Use anatomy and physiology knowledge to support safe and effective exercise SISFFIT052 Provide healthy eating information
- Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.
Entry recommendations
To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:
- an interest in helping people reach their fitness goals
- good communication skills for one to one coaching
- a patient and encouraging approach to behaviour change
- an interest in exercise science and program planning
What will you learn?
You learn to screen a client, work out what they need, write a program for their goals and coach them through it, mostly in one-to-one sessions. The core covers exercise science, behaviour change, healthy eating advice and tailored programs for groups such as older and teenage clients, along with the professional and business side of working independently. Entry assumes you already hold the Certificate III in Fitness or its superseded units, so client screening and group instruction are covered before you start.
- Designing personalised programs
- Instructing one-to-one sessions
- Training older clients
- Training teenage clients
- Supporting behaviour change
- Building a personal training practice
Units of competency (10 core, 7 elective)
The qualification is made up of 17 units. Everyone completes the 10 core units below, and the remaining 7 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.
Loading the details for CHCCOM006…
Loading the details for CHCCOM006…
Career pathways
Roles this qualification is a recognised route into, and what else you need.
A recognised route into Personal Trainer

Personal Trainer
Personal trainers design exercise programs for individual clients and coach them through each session, adjusting the plan as fitness and goals change.
Explore this career →- Weekly pay
- $1,500
- Full-time share
- 32%
- Employment size
- 35,900 workers
- Average age
- 36 years
- Average full-time hours
- 43 hours
- Gender share
- 62% female
- Future growth
- +13.1%
- Job market
- Not in shortage
Meet the qualification's entry, practical and first-aid requirements. Entry requirements: Entry to this qualification is open to individuals who hold the following units of competency or units that have been superseded by these units: HLTAID011 Provide First Aid (or a unit that supersedes this unit) HLTWHS001 Participate in workplace health and safety SISFFIT032 Complete pre-exercise screening and service orientation SISFFIT033 Complete client fitness assessments SISFFIT035 Plan group exercise sessions SISFFIT036 Instruct group exercise sessions SISFFIT040 Develop and instruct gym-based exercise programs for individual clients SISFFIT047 Use anatomy and physiology knowledge to support safe and effective exercise SISFFIT052 Provide healthy eating information
Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).


