Skip to content
careertips

HomeCoursesDentistry and oral healthDiploma of Dental Technology

Diploma of Dental Technology

Training for this diploma happens largely in a lab, where students learn to make and repair the appliances that sit inside someone's mouth: dentures, crowns, bridges, orthodontic devices and splints.

Illustration of a person working as dental technician
  • Duration: 2 years
  • Study mode: Online and on campus
  • Course code: HLT55118

Where you can study this course

Where
Study mode
  • Campuses
    Randwick Campus, Sydney Dental Hospital
    Duration
    2 years
    Study mode
    Combination
    Full fee
    Not stated by provider

    What students say

    Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.

  • Campuses
    15 campuses
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked

    What students say

    Students often find organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching, while some praise the facilities and campus and student support.

  • Campuses
    South Bank
    Duration
    Not stated by provider
    Study mode
    On campus with some online
    Full fee
    $36,475
    Eligible students: subsidised from $31,350, concession $29,825

    What students say

    Many students rate the facilities and campus highly. Some found course content and organisation and admin frustrating, while opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching.

  • Campuses
    26 campuses
    Duration
    Not yet checked
    Study mode
    Not yet checked
    Full fee
    Not yet checked

    What students say

    Students rate the trainers, teaching, facilities and campus highly, though some found the organisation, admin and communication frustrating; opinions are mixed on facilities and campus.

  • Campuses
    Chadstone
    Duration
    Not stated by provider
    Study mode
    On campus
    Full fee
    $33,420
    Eligible students: subsidised from $23,283

    What students say

    Students have mixed views on the trainers and teaching, and many also mention problems with communication and with organisation and admin.

  • Campuses
    Leederville
    Duration
    Not stated by provider
    Study mode
    Apprenticeship
    Full fee
    Not stated by provider

    What students say

    Opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching, with some students finding the organisation and admin frustrating and a number unhappy with the course content.

Last reviewed 20 September 2026.

Set your location

Enter your postcode to see the providers closest to you first.

We use your postcode to sort providers by distance and to understand where people are looking to study. See our privacy policy.

Is this course right for you?

Entry requirements

Entry requirements are set by each provider, so check the ones you are considering.

  • Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.

Entry recommendations

To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:

  • an interest in making things with your hands
  • patience for careful, detailed work
  • an eye for shape, fit and finish
  • a methodical approach to hygiene and safety

What will you learn?

Working from a dentist's written prescription, a dental technician builds models and impression trays, casts and joins metal frameworks, and finishes acrylic and ceramic restorations. Digital design is part of the trade now, so students also learn to shape restorations in CAD software and prepare them for manufacture. Infection control and careful handling of materials run through every stage of the work.

  • Making dental models and trays
  • Casting metal denture frameworks
  • Building crowns and bridges
  • Making complete and partial dentures
  • Designing restorations in CAD
  • Infection control in the lab

Units of competency (21 core, 4 elective)

The qualification is made up of 25 units. Everyone completes the 21 core units below, and the remaining 4 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.

  • Loading the details for CHCCOM005

Career pathways

Roles this qualification is a recognised route into, and what else you need.

Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).