HomeCoursesVisual artsDiploma of Visual Arts
Diploma of Visual Arts
This diploma suits people who want to make art seriously and show it publicly, rather than study it only in theory.
- Duration: 1 year to 18 months
- Study mode: On campus
- Course code: CUA51125
Where you can study this course
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Melbourne Polytechnic
- Campuses
- 13 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
A number of students find the organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching, while some rate the facilities and campus highly.
- Campuses
- 6 campuses
- Duration
- 1 year to 18 months
- Study mode
- Varies by campus
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
What students say
Many students speak well of the facilities and campus, and some rate the trainers and teaching highly, though opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching and student support, and some found the organisation and admin frustrating.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)

RMIT University
- Campuses
- 15 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students often find organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching, while some praise the facilities and campus and student support.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
TAFE Queensland
- Campuses
- 4 campuses
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- On campus
- Full fee
- $19,020
- Eligible students: subsidised from $11,850, concession $10,305
What students say
Many students rate the facilities and campus highly. Some found course content and organisation and admin frustrating, while opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching.
- Campuses
- 26 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
Students rate the trainers, teaching, facilities and campus highly, though some found the organisation, admin and communication frustrating; opinions are mixed on facilities and campus.
- Visit provider website → (opens in a new tab)
Central Queensland University
- Campuses
- 18 campuses
- Duration
- Not yet checked
- Study mode
- Not yet checked
- Full fee
- Not yet checked
What students say
A number of students praise the student support and campus facilities, while many found the organisation and admin frustrating and some had trouble with the enrolment process. Opinions are mixed on student support.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)
North Metropolitan TAFE
- Campuses
- Perth
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- On campus
- Full fee
- Not stated by provider
What students say
Opinions are mixed on the trainers and teaching, with some students finding the organisation and admin frustrating and a number unhappy with the course content.
- Visit course page → (opens in a new tab)

Chisholm Institute
- Campuses
- Frankston
- Duration
- Not stated by provider
- Study mode
- Not stated by provider
- Full fee
- $17,673
- Eligible students: subsidised from $10,426
What students say
Students rate the trainers and teaching highly, along with student support and course content. Some students found organisation and admin frustrating, and opinions are mixed on student support.
Last reviewed 20 September 2026.
Is this course right for you?
Entry requirements
Individuals must provide evidence of their technical and organisational skills to conceptualise and create works in selected medium. Skills and knowledge may have been acquired through experience in creative practice or formal study.
- Providers can set their own conditions, such as a minimum age or a current job in the industry, and practical training may need a workplace placement. Check each provider above.
Entry recommendations
To be prepared for this course, it helps to have:
- an interest in making art and showing it publicly
- a willingness to draw and refine visual representation
- good organisational skills for planning a body of work
- an eye for safe handling of materials and equipment
What will you learn?
You sharpen your drawing and other ways of representing ideas, then plan and produce a body of work in a medium such as painting, ceramics, printmaking, photomedia, sculpture or digital art. Alongside the studio time you learn how to present and exhibit finished work, keep a practice going over the long term, and handle materials and equipment safely. Entry is open to people who can show they already have some technical and organisational skills, whether from creative work or earlier study.
- Drawing and visual representation
- Building a body of work
- Exhibiting and presenting work
- Running a sustainable practice
- Studio safety and materials
Units of competency (5 core, 10 elective)
The qualification is made up of 15 units. Everyone completes the 5 core units below, and the remaining 10 are electives chosen from the list on training.gov.au, so they vary by provider. Select a unit to see what it covers.
Loading the details for CUAACD531…
Loading the details for CUAACD531…
Data from training.gov.au and the Australian Bureau of Statistics (CC BY 4.0).

